No Named Sheep

I have been privileged to experience not one set of  bright-eyed baby lambs, but TWO sets of baby lambs!  The other night I walked out to the barn with a cup of freshly brewed peppermint tea and stepped up on the jagged pieces of worn wood identifying it’s self as a fence.  A barrier of sorts between us and them.

I can’t tell if the fence is for the human folk, making sure they stay out, or if it’s for the animals, making sure they stay in.  Either way,  It’s the perfect kind of weather these days, bare skin and feet touching both dirt and sky.  We welcomed a little black sheep into the clan.  She is the first little girl out of the group, besides the mama, of course, and she is as black as the deepest parts of the unexplored ocean.  She hangs close to her mama as the three boys go off and play. They are silly little fluffs throwing themselves up into the air as they land on soft hay.  The littlest guy, a week behind the others, is herded and nudged back into the pen by his auntie.  His mamma and sister await him.  It’s amazing, the little tribe these sheep live in, no different from the human structure of a tight-knit clan.   Siblings and cousins play, while the aunts help the mamas; it’s quite magical behind the soft lit approaching night.

A sleeping baby.  I watched his head flop back and forth in a constant battle with sleep.  He didn’t want to doze off, his eyes would shut, head would bounce and then he would startle himself awake again. Ha! It was absolutely adorable!


Cuzco meets lambs.

That’s all I have for you at this moment.  Stay tuned for a topic on our most beloved subject: Permaculture Zones.

One response to this post.

  1. Ohhh and ahhh… new lambs! who wouldn’t be smitten? Your words and photos carried me right along with this delightful story.
    I look forward to meeting you and painting at the Farmette at the BCAA event – already I am a fan of what you are doing, and I just found out about you.
    I too just made a blog post about sheep (from Wales where I was plein air painting – let me know what you think of it if you check it out).
    I can’t find your address on your website – am I missing something?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

